European Parliamentary candidate selection

The South East Green Party is currently selecting candidates in case of elections to the European Parliament. If Brexit is postponed by more that a few weeks there will be an election on 23 May 2019. We need to be prepared. We need 10 candidates in the South East region. One or two of you could be elected and become an MEP for the South East, following the tradition set by Caroline Lucas and Keith Taylor.

Read more to find out how you could apply by 14 March 2019.

Please consider whether you would be interested in standing for selection, or whether you know another member who you would like to nominate. Nominations for European Parliament Elections for the South East opened Monday 25th February and will close at 6pm on Thursday 14th March. Voting will then take place from 17-31st March.

To nominate yourself or someone else you must complete this nomination form and collect at least valid 10 signatures. Signatories may submit their nomination by email, saying the person's name they wish to nominate, their own name and local party, to the ERRO Nigel Tart, at [email protected].

The party is keen to select a list that is representative of the population of the region and of our membership. We positively encourage nominations from disadvantaged or underrepresented groups, including, but not limited to: women, Black and Minority Ethnic people, LGBT+ people, disabled people, working class people.

We are also keen that the selection process should have minimal impact on campaigning in the local elections, so apologies for the short time scale.

Download the Nomination Papers and Standing Orders here. Please email Nigel Tart if you have any questions about the process.

Best wishes

Nigel Tart

European Regional Returning Officer, SEGP

[email protected]

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

Join our mailing list for news, events and more...

Our Privacy Policy

Sign Up


  • Antonio Testa
  • Kate Rosie
  • Rebecca Whitcher
  • Ricky Baker
  • Sabine Murray
  • Ricardo Marrero
  • Trish Moore
  • Christine Clark
  • Gemma Mcfarlane
  • Christopher Smith

Antonio Testa just joined.